Efta Free Trade Agreements

Most (but not all) Swiss free trade agreements contain such a rule. This means that the determination of the country of origin of primary materials from a third country is not taken into account, provided that their value does not exceed 10% of the factory starting price. However, if a percentage rule is established in the list, it cannot be exceeded by the application of the general value tolerance. This is why this tolerance is particularly important for products for which the list provides for a jump in position. The general value tolerance cannot apply to products listed in Chapters 50 to 63 of the harmonized system, nor does it apply to products that have received only minimal processing in Switzerland. The manufacture of products in the Country of Origin in Switzerland should not be subject to the use of primary materials that do not meet the criteria of the country of origin which are subject to restitution or suspension of customs duties (for example. B, goods imported and re-exported to the processing facility). This rule does not apply to agreements with Singapore, South Korea, SACU, Canada, Japan, Colombia and Peru. On 17 May 2006, Switzerland, Colombia and efTA Member States — Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland — signed a declaration of cooperation in Bern. The aim of the declaration is to improve economic relations and create a framework for the expansion, diversification and liberalization of trade and investment. The declaration is the establishment of a joint committee to review cooperation in the areas mentioned in the declaration, to examine areas of mutual interest and to make appropriate recommendations for cooperation. Although EFTA is not a customs union and Member States have the full right to conclude bilateral trade agreements for third countries, it has a coordinated trade policy. [3] As a result, their Member States have concluded free trade agreements with the EU and a number of other countries.

[3] To participate in the EU internal market, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are contracting parties to the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement with the rules set by the EFTA Supervisory Authority and the EFTA Court of Justice. Instead, Switzerland has a series of bilateral agreements with the EU. In November 2012, after the Council of the European Union requested an assessment of the EU`s relations with Monaco, Andorra and San Marino, which they described as “fragmented”,[16] the European Commission published a report setting out options for further integration into the EU. [17] Unlike Liechtenstein, which is a member of the EEA through EFTA and the Schengen agreements, relations with these three states are based on a set of agreements covering specific issues. The report examined four alternatives to the current situation: the content of the agreements The essential element of each agreement is trade in goods (including tariff reductions and other trade restrictions).

Comments are closed.